SDCC 2016: Eisner Award Winners – The Oscars of the Comic Book Industry

The Eisner Awards, which would be the equivalent of the Oscars in the comic book community, were announced last night at San Diego Comic-Con International.  PopCultHQ wrote on the event and the list of nominees a few months back and there was some seriously tough competition as many creators, artists, writers and all those involved in projects have put out such great material as of late that all were deserving. The awards honor the very best in comic books, creators and retailers over the past 12 months.

SB pic

The Image Comics title “Southern Bastards” was the spotlight of this year’s event as Jason Aaron won for “Best Writer” and also picked up one with the other half of the Southern Bastards series, artist Jason Latour, for “Best Ongoing Series.” Other standouts include Cliff Chiang (Paper Girls) for “Best Penciller/Inker” and “Silver Surfer” #11: “Never After,” by Dan Slott and Michael Allred won for “Best Single Issue or One-Shot.”

Here is the complete list of all the winners of the 2016 Will Eisner Comic Book Industry Eisner Awards:


Best Short Story: “Killing and Dying,” by Adrian Tomine, in “Optic Nerve” #14 (Drawn & Quarterly)

Best Single Issue/One-Shot: “Silver Surfer” #11: “Never After,” by Dan Slott and Michael Allred (Marvel)

Best Continuing Series: “Southern Bastards,” by Jason Aaron and Jason Latour (Image)

Best Limited Series: “The Fade Out,” by Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips (Image)

Best New Series: “Paper Girls,” by Brian K. Vaughan and Cliff Chiang (Image)

Best Publication for Early Readers (up to age 8): “Little Robot,’ by Ben Hatke (First Second)

Best Publication for Kids (ages 9-12): “Over the Garden Wall,” by Pat McHale, Amalia Levari, and Jim Campbell (BOOM! Studios/KaBOOM!)

Best Publication for Teens (ages 13-17): “SuperMutant Magic Academy,” by Jillian Tamaki (Drawn & Quarterly)

Best Humor Publication: “Step Aside, Pops: A Hark! A Vagrant Collection,” by Kate Beaton (Drawn & Quarterly)

Best Digital/Webcomic: “Bandette,” by Paul Tobin and Colleen Coover (Monkeybrain/comiXology)

Best Anthology: “Drawn & Quarterly, Twenty-Five Years of Contemporary, Cartooning, Comics, and Graphic Novels” edited by Tom Devlin (Drawn & Quarterly)

Best Reality-Based Work: “March: Book Two,” by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell (Top Shelf/IDW)

Best Graphic Album—New: “Ruins,” by Peter Kuper (SelfMadeHero)

Best Graphic Album—Reprint: “Nimona,” by Noelle Stevenson (Harper Teen)

Best Adaptation from Another Medium: “Two Brothers,” by Fábio Moon and Gabriel Bá (Dark Horse)

Best U.S. Edition of International Material: “The Realist,” by Asaf Hanuka (BOOM! Studios/Archaia)

Best U.S. Edition of International Material—Asia: “Showa, 1953–1989: A History of Japan, ” y Shigeru Mizuki (Drawn & Quarterly)

Best Archival Collection/Project—Strips: “The Eternaut, by Héctor Germán Oesterheld and Francisco Solano Lòpez,” edited by Gary Groth and Kristy Valenti (Fantagraphics)

Best Archival Collection/Project—Comic Books: “Walt Kelly’s Fairy Tales,” edited by Craig Yoe (IDW)

Best Writer: Jason Aaron, “Southern Bastards” (Image), “Men of Wrath” (Marvel Icon), “Doctor Strange,” “Star Wars,” “Thor” (Marvel)

Best Writer/Artist: Bill Griffith, “Invisible Ink: My Mother’s Secret Love Affair with a Famous Cartoonist” (Fantagraphics)

Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team: Cliff Chiang, “Paper Girls” (Image)

Best Painter/Multimedia Artist: Dustin Nguyen, “Descender” (Image)

Best Cover Artist: David Aja, “Hawkeye,” “Karnak,” “Scarlet Witch” (Marvel)

Best Coloring: Jordie Bellaire, “The Autumnlands,” “Injection,” “Plutona,” “Pretty Deadly,” “The Surface,” “They’re Not Like Us,” “Zero” (Image); “The X-Files” (IDW); “The Massive” (Dark Horse); “Magneto,” “Vision” (Marvel)

Best Lettering: Derf Backderf, “Trashed” (Abrams)

Best Comics-Related Periodical/Journalism: “Hogan’s Alley,”edited by Tom Heintjes (Hogan’s Alley)

Best Comics-Related Book: “Harvey Kurtzman: The Man Who Created Mad and Revolutionized Humor in America,” by Bill Schelly (Fantagraphics)

Best Academic/Scholarly Work: “The Blacker the Ink: Constructions of Black Identity in Comics and Sequential Art,” edited by Frances Gateward and John Jennings (Rutgers)

Best Publication Design: “The Sandman Gallery Edition,” designed by Josh Beatman/Brainchild Studios (Graphitti Designs/DC)

Hall of Fame: Judges’ Choices: Carl Burgos, Tove Jansson • Voters’ Choices: Lynda Barry, Rube Goldberg, Matt Groening, Jacques Tardi

Russ Manning Promising Newcomer Award: Dan Mora

Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award: Matthew Inman

Bill Finger Award for Excellence in Comic Book Writing: Richard E. Hughes, Elliot S! Maggin

Will Eisner Spirit of Comics Retailer Award: Orbital Comics and Games, London, UK

The following creators were recognized and inducted into the Will Eisner Hall of Fame:

  • Lynda Barry
  • Carl Burgos
  • Rube Goldberg
  • Matt Groening
  • Tove Jansson
  • Jacques Tardi
About Jason Bennett 7310 Articles
Jason Bennett is PopCultHQ's chief editor, a contributing writer, and comic book reviewer/reporter. One with the Force. Browncoats Unite! So say we all! Follow Jason on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram: @TahoeJBennett